The Contestants

The Contestants

One hundred years ago the Norwegian polar adventurer, Roald Amundsen beat the British Royal Navy officer, Robert Falcon Scott to the South Pole. Amundsen became the first person to set foot on the Geographic South Pole.


This year, 7 teams will take part in The Centenary Race to the South Pole – 17 men and one woman


The contestants was supposed to fly to Antarctica on Monday evening, 19 December but the flight to Novo Airbase in Antarctica was delayed because of a severe storm in Novo and the contestants could only leave Cape Town on Thursday, 22 December 2011.


The teams have arrived safely in Novo and are spending the next few days doing crevasse training.


Because the departure was delayed the start date of the race will also change. At the moment it’s scheduled to start on 3 January 2012 (weather permitting).


We will send an update of how the teams are doing after Christmas, so please stay tuned in.


The new Cold Sweat website with tracking and twitter updates from Antarctica will be live on 1 January 2012.


In the mean time you can also look at the MySchool, MyPlanet facebook page for updates on the South African Team: